Counties Transit Improvement Board Votes to Dissolve

Counties Transit Improvement Board Votes to Dissolve Photo: KSTP

May 31, 2017 07:42 PM

The Counties Transit Improvement Board began the process of dissolving Wednesday.

The board voted to to dissolve the five-county joint powers board and terminate its quarter-cent sales tax, a Hennepin County release said.


The Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey and Washington County boards must now all vote on the dissolution and impose replacement sales taxes to replace funding for roads, bridges and transit projects in those counties that would have received CTIB funds.

The CTIB will meet again on June 21 to authorize taking the final steps in the process. Those include submitting a notice to the Department of Revenue to terminate the regional transit sales tax by Sept. 30, pre-paying debt issues in 2010 to fund construction of the Green Line light rail and making cash payments to Anoka ($4.1 million), Dakota ($21.3 million) and Washington ($9.78 million) Counties.

The board was created in 2008 and awards grants based on the quarter-cent sales tax and $20 motor vehicle excise tax.

"The lack of state funding for transit over the past few years has been the biggest road block to expanding transit in this region," said Peter McLaughlin, the CTIB Chair and a Hennepin County Commissioner, in a statement.

"Today we voted to remove an obstacle and continue working together as counties to complete a regional vision for a modern, connected transit system that meets the needs of our residents and employers."


Frank Rajkowski

Copyright 2017 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


Court Documents Reveal Details Inside 'House of Horrors'

JDRF One Walk Raises More Than $1.5M for Type 1 Diabetes Research

Officials: Suicide Bomber Kills 2 in Afghan Capital

KSTP Sports Girls State Hockey Tourney Central

Snow Expected Saturday Prompts Winter Storm Warning

Lakeville Principal, Already Charged With Stalking, Arrested in Otter Tail County