Counties Transit Improvement Board Votes to Dissolve

Counties Transit Improvement Board Votes to Dissolve Photo: KSTP

May 31, 2017 07:42 PM

The Counties Transit Improvement Board began the process of dissolving Wednesday.

The board voted to to dissolve the five-county joint powers board and terminate its quarter-cent sales tax, a Hennepin County release said.


The Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey and Washington County boards must now all vote on the dissolution and impose replacement sales taxes to replace funding for roads, bridges and transit projects in those counties that would have received CTIB funds.

The CTIB will meet again on June 21 to authorize taking the final steps in the process. Those include submitting a notice to the Department of Revenue to terminate the regional transit sales tax by Sept. 30, pre-paying debt issues in 2010 to fund construction of the Green Line light rail and making cash payments to Anoka ($4.1 million), Dakota ($21.3 million) and Washington ($9.78 million) Counties.

The board was created in 2008 and awards grants based on the quarter-cent sales tax and $20 motor vehicle excise tax.

"The lack of state funding for transit over the past few years has been the biggest road block to expanding transit in this region," said Peter McLaughlin, the CTIB Chair and a Hennepin County Commissioner, in a statement.

"Today we voted to remove an obstacle and continue working together as counties to complete a regional vision for a modern, connected transit system that meets the needs of our residents and employers."


Frank Rajkowski

Copyright 2017 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


1 Dead After Inver Grove Heights Shooting

Over 10,000 People Expected at Local 'March For Our Lives' in St. Paul

Heavy Snow Misses Twin Cities, Few Flurries Expected Saturday

KSTP Sports' Boys State Hoops Central

Authorities Release New Information in Homicide Involving Paynesville Couple

Father of Man Killed in Alexandria Hit-And-Run Makes Emotional Plea