30 Counties Under Tornado Watch, Tornado Spotted in Western Minnesota

June 13, 2017 10:53 PM

Video courtesy of Vincent Maciej

The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch for 30 Minnesota counties Tuesday evening.


The counties include: Benton; Brown; Chippewa; Cottonwood; Douglas; Jackson; Kandiyohi; Lac Qui Parle; Lincoln; Lyon; McLeod; Meeker; Mille Lacs; Morrison; Murray; Nicollet; Nobles; Pipestone; Pope; Redwood; Renville; Rock; Sherburne; Sibley; Stearns; Stevens; Swift; Todd; Wright; Yellow Medicine Counties.

Find the Latest Weather Updates Here

The watch will be in effect until 2 a.m. Portions of South Dakota and Iowa have also been placed under the tornado watch.

The National Weather Service reported one tornado sighting near Hancock just after 6:40 p.m. Tuesday. 

Severe weather is expected throughout the state with a storm that is gathering steam in South Dakota, according to KSTP Chief Meteorologist Dave Dahl.

Download the KSTP Weather App Here

Dahl said the storms could carry winds that reach up to 60 mph. Dahl said the primary concern of this round of storms is felled trees.

The storm is expected to reach the Twin Cities sometime between 11 p.m. and midnight.



Copyright 2017 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


Widow: Even in Death, Wayzata Officer Bill Mathews Making a Difference

Proposal to Halt Refugee Resettlement in St. Cloud is Preempted, Fails to Reach Vote

Source: Wild Forward Zach Parise Set For Back Surgery Tuesday

To Some, Somalia's Deadliest Attack is Call to Action for Minnesotans

New Naval Vessel Continues Legacy of USS Minneapolis

Despite Renovations, New-Look Target Center Generates Early Complaints