KSTP on Twitter KSTP on Facebook KSTP RSS Make KSTP Your Homepage

Ch.5 receives 1st place National Headliner Award 3/18/02

The National Headliner Awards have recognized Channel 5 Eyewitness News Sports with a first place award for their report on the death of Minnesota Viking Korey Stringer. The award was given to the Channel 5 sports department: Sports Director Joe Schmit, Eric Gislason, Kathy Gerhardt, and Ed Karow. Channel 5 News Director Scott Libin said, "The Headliner Award is a tremendous honor under any circumstances, but it means even more coming as it does in recognition of our entire sports team, which led the market and the nation on the story of Korey Stringer's death, handling it with accuracy, responsibility, and compassion. That effort exemplifies the values we hope underlie all of our reporting."

Eyewitness News reporter Bob McNaney and photojournalist Russ Brown received a third place award in “feature reporting” for their story about the Federal Air Marshal program in Atlantic City. KSTP-TV is one of only a handful of local news stations in the nation to get this exclusive look at the extensive training of the people protecting our international airways.

Founded in 1934 by the Press Club of Atlantic City, the National Headliner Awards program is one of the oldest and largest annual competitions recognizing journalistic merit in the communications industry. Past winners of this award include Edward R. Murrow, Eric Severeid, and Ernie Pyle.

KSTP-TV Channel 5, Minneapolis/Saint Paul’s ABC affiliate, is owned and operated by Hubbard Broadcasting, Inc. It remains the only locally-owned, locally-operated television news station in the Twin Cities.

AP Video