FEMA Adds Ramsey, Hennepin Counties to Presidential Disaster Declaration

Updated: 08/21/2014 3:41 PM
Created: 08/21/2014 2:25 PM
By: Megan Matthews

Ramsey and Hennepin counties will now be eligible for federal funding to help clean up and repair damage from summer flooding.

Gov. Mark Dayton announced Thursday, both counties have been added to the presidential disaster declaration, which was originally received July 21. There are now 37 counties and three tribal governments that will receive federal and state assistance to help recovery efforts.

Severe storms, mudslides and flooding did a lot of damage across the state from June into July. Dakota County could also be added to the list and is still assessing damages.

"I very much appreciate the FEMA officials returning to Minnesota and making a careful assessment of the considerable flood damage in Hennepin, Ramsey and Dakota counties," Gov. Dayton said in a statement Thursday. "I am very pleased that Hennepin and Ramsey counties have now been included in the FEMA emergency designation, and I am hopeful that Dakota county will also qualify. However, if it does not, it is eligible for the state emergency disaster assistance program, which the legislature passed last spring."

In all of the counties combined, around $30 million in eligible expenses have been identified.

FEMA has been assessing damage in all of the affected counties since Gov. Dayton sent a letter requesting the presidential disaster declaration earlier this summer. There will be meetings in flood-damaged communities to make sure county leaders and local officials are aware of the next steps they need to take to receive federal aid.

Minneapolis/St. Paul

80° | 60°
  • Feels like: 59° F
  • Wind: NW 3mph
  • Humidity: 83%