State Requests 30 Counties be Added to Federal Disaster Declaration

Updated: 07/29/2014 4:54 PM
Created: 07/29/2014 4:39 PM
By: Megan Matthews

Minnesota leaders want 30 more counties and two tribal governments to be added to a federal disaster declaration.

Eight counties are included in the declaration received July 21, after severe storms hit this summer. The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) wants more counties to be eligible for federal and state aid.

Gov. Mark Dayton secured a major disaster declaration for Chippewa, Freeborn, Jackson, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Renville and Rock counties.

HSEM Director Kris Eide wants FEMA to add the following counties to the declaration: Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Dakota, Dodge, Faribault, Hennepin, Koochiching, Lac Qui Parle, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Lyon, Marshall, Martin, McLeod, Nicollet, Ramsey, Redwood, Rice, Roseau, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Todd, Wadena, Waseca, Watonwan, Wright and Yellow Medicine counties. He also wants the Red Lake Band of Chippewa and Prairie Island Indian Community added.

Adding the counties to the list would help local governments pay for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

Minneapolis/St. Paul

78° | 62°
  • Feels like: 65° F
  • Wind: S 3mph
  • Humidity: 73%